Karin Maria Boye, novelist, poet, and short story writer, was born in Goteborg, Sweden. 

Boye published her first book, Moln, when she was 22. Outside Sweden, her best-known work is probably the novel "Kallocain". Inspired by her visit to the Soviet Union in 1928 and her visit to Germany during the rise of National Socialism it was a portrayal of a dystopian society in the vein of Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four and Huxley's Brave New World. Boye also published a variety of noteworthy works in other genres, including several volumes of poetry, two collections of short stories, four additional novels, essays, reviews, and literary translations.

Karin Boye committed suicide in Alingsas, Sweden in 1941.

Karin Boye

 
PixelHouse Enthusiast © 2010 Enthusiast | All rights reserved | www.enthusiast.bg